Skip directly to content

Chapters

May Meeting

on Thu, 04/17/2014 - 6:15pm

The Aviator's Wife


Wednesday, May 21, 10:15 - 11:00 a.m.


or Thursday, May 22, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.


The aviator is Charles Lindbergh and the aviator's wife is Anne Morrow Lindbergh. Their life together begins happily in Mexico, but a family tragedy soon strikes in New Jersey. From the Spirit of St. Louis to The Crime of the Century, author Melanie Benjamin captures the lives of this legendary couple in her rich, historical fiction novel.

Chapters

on Fri, 04/04/2014 - 6:29pm

The Invisible Wall: a Love Story that Broke Barriers


Wednesday, April 16, 10:15 - 11:00 a.m.


or Thursday, April 17, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.


Growing up poor and Jewish in a northern England working class town, author Harry Bernstein witnessed brutality and love, danger and tenderness, and boundaries. Breaking down those barriers became a lifelong passion for the Brick, New Jersey author who was in his 90s when he penned this unforgettable debut memoir.

March Meeting

on Mon, 03/03/2014 - 6:51pm

Killing the Poormaster: a Saga of Poverty, Corruption, and Murder in the Great Depression


Wednesday, March 19, 10:15 - 11:00 a.m.


or Thursday, March 20, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.


Author and journalist Holly Metz steps back in time to Depression-era Hoboken to shine a light on the desperate conditions faced by the unemployed. Winner of the 2013 McCormick Prize, awarded by the New Jersey Historical Commission, this expose blends true crime, legal thriller, and social history.

February Meeting

on Thu, 01/16/2014 - 7:19pm

The Interestings

Wednesday, February 19, 10:15 - 11:00 a.m.

or Thursday, February 20, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.

Julie is middle class and from the New York suburbs. After she meets five sophisticated and privileged Manhattan teens at a creative arts camp in the Berkshire Mountains, Julie quickly transforms into Jules. Author Meg Wolitzer follows Jules and her clique through the ups and downs of their long friendships as they move from adolescence to middle age.

January Meeting

on Fri, 12/27/2013 - 4:33pm

Juliette Gordon Low: the Remarkable Founder of the Girl Scouts

Wednesday, January 15, 10:15 - 11:00 a.m.

or Thursday, January 16, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.

Juliette Gordon Low, known always as Daisy, founded the Girl Scouts in 1912. A woman ahead of her time, Daisy introduced the outdoors to the young ladies of Savannah all the while developing their sense of independence and resourcefulness. Author Stacy A. Cordery provides a lively portrait of a true heroine who created an organization which would ultimately impact the lives of millions of girls and women around the world.

 

Pages