Skip directly to content

Chapters

April Meeting

on Thu, 03/19/2015 - 4:05pm

A Painted House

Wednesday, April 15, 11:00 - 11:45 a.m.

or Thursday, April 16, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.

In an unpainted farm house in Arkansas, seven-year-old Luke Chandler dreams of one day playing for his favorite team, the St. Louis Cardinals. The harsh realities of farm llife along with the racial and cultural tensions of the 1950s, however, fill young Luke's days. In a departure from his legal thrillers, John Grisham offers a rich and moving journey through rural America.

March Meeting

on Thu, 02/19/2015 - 5:48pm

Left to Tell

Wednesday, March 18, 11:00 - 11:45 a.m.

or Thursday, March 19, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.

In 1994, Immaculee Ilibagiza and seven other women huddled silently in the tiny bathroom of a local pastor's home for 91 days while the horrors of the Rwandan genocide descended upon her beloved country and its people. Ms. Ilibagiza's memoir chronicles this tragic and violent piece of history, while simultaneously being a testament to the power of faith, fortitude, and forgiveness.

February Meeting

on Thu, 02/05/2015 - 2:58pm

Only Time Will Tell

Wednesday, February 18, 11:00 - 11:45 a.m.

or Thursday, February 19, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.

Long-buried family secrets fuel tales of love, revenge, ambition and betrayal in this epic family tale from Jeffrey Archer. In this first volume, travel from working-class England in WWI to the bustling streets of 1940s New York City. Is Harry Clifton the son of a dockworker or the firstborn son of a wealthy family who owns a shipping line? Be prepared for edge of your seat twists and turns as Harry's story is revealed throughout the four remaining books in this series.

January Meeting

on Tue, 12/30/2014 - 2:33pm

My Brilliant Friend

Wednesday, January 21, 11:00 - 11:45 a.m.

or Thursday, January 22, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.

In post-war Italy, Lila and Elena grow from girlhood to adolescence under poor and unforgiving circumstances. The two childhood friends rely heavily on each other as they come to terms with living in a community where joy and strife walk hand in hand. Is their bond unbreakable? Follow their stories in author Elena Ferrante's Neapolitan Novel series.

December Meeting

on Sun, 11/23/2014 - 2:26pm

Here If You Need Me

Wednesday, December 17, 11:00 - 11:45 a.m.

or Thursday, December 18, 7:00 - 7:45 p.m.

Kate Braestrup shares the story of her life - wife turned widow, mother, seminary student, and the first chaplain with the Maine Game Warden Service. This memoir is equal parts police procedural, travelogue, and spiritual guidebook. Intrigued? The author's second memoir was also published to enthusiastic reviews and was followed by a volume of spiritual reflections.

Pages